ASIPV003R / Arovane & Hior Chronik - In-between (Remixes EP)

Admired by many since its release, Arovane & Hior Chronik's ethereal ambient album In-between, received wide applause from many and has been held-up as one of the best of 2015. 2016 sees a dream lineup of remixers turn in a spectrum of takes on the original shimmering ambient sound, ranging from immersive drones, to dubtechno and electronica.

Arovane opens up the 12" with a return to his early City Centre Offices sound. After Tomorrow is reworked into a melodic and warm synth-heavy track, that finds an even more ethereal touch than the original. 

bvdub's relentless album output has seen him become one of the most respected artists of the genre, yet his remixes are still few and far between. Here, Brock steps up to the plate with a confident, big sound that takes the core of Past Creates The Future, into a completely new yet familiar bvdub territory. Expanding layers embellish on the raw rumbles and strings of the original, with new chords, beats and vocals progressing into an epic nine minutes. It would've been longer if Brock had his way...

The man behind the mixing desk for ASIP, Rafael Anton Irisarriprovides two remixes for the EP. His first, under Herr Irisarri with an unexpected, decaying, granular dub-take on Wunderland. Rafael's dedication to analog production heard throughout, as tiny details and organic changes manipulate and drive the dub-heavy sound. 

Arovane and Iran's, Porya Hatami collaborated on Resonance in 2015, so it's of no surprise to see Porya take on Arovane's sound here. Porya provides additional field recordings to lift the already immersive Past Creates The Future, landing on the beautiful cello piece by Aaron Martin to create a final twist in the tale, elaborating on the beautiful instrument found in the original.

Following Markus Guentner's successful ASIP release, the Pop Ambient pioneer dives into his unique, looping ambient sound in style on Scale, embracing more menace and mystery than the original. Markus' new album Theia, has undoubtedly won the hearts of many new ambient fans, who won't be disappointed with this, the latest addition to his expanding contributions to ASIP.

Lastly, as a Bandcamp digital bonus, Rafael Anton Irisarri turns to The Sight Below guise for a spectacular 19-minute take on, A Day, November 2013. A pulsating rhythm drives an immersive backdrop, inviting the subtle details of the original to step forward. They're teased and manipulated, ending in a drifting Eno-esque guitar melody; a signature RAI sound to sign-off the EP.


The simple, all-black artwork represents the juxtaposition between the glistening sounds of the original, and the alternative takes found on the remix EP, featuring heavyweight vinyl and a spot-gloss sleeve, designed by Nick Brzostowski. 

Released: 8th February 2016

01. After Tomorrow (AMX)
02. Past Creates The Future (bvdub's Houses Hold The Past To Peace)
03. Wunderland (Herr Irisarri Remix)
04. Past Creates The Future (Porya Hatami Remix)
05. Scale (Markus Guentner Remix)
06. A Day, November 2013 (The Sight Below Remix) [Digital only]


Mastered by Rafael Anton Irisarri @ Black Knoll Studio
Artwork by Nick Brzostowski
Formats: Limited edition (250 copies) 175gm black vinyl in spot-gloss sleeve + digital download.

Mary Anne Hobbs (BBC Radio 6) | PlaidIgloo Magazine | 
Finest Ego | Boomkat review