Kettel & Secede – When Can


Back in August, Kettel and Secede released a ‘When Can Flavors mix‘ which included some of their recent inspirations, and as the title conveys, influenced their upcoming album. It was a truly epic experimental mix, shifting between all types of genres.

I was lucky enough to get my hands on the new album – an album which marks the return of the brilliant Sending Orbs label after two years. The ‘Flavors’ mix did it’s job put it that way. ‘When Can’ is a monumental piece of experimental music which quite honestly, is like nothing i’ve heard before.

I gave Secede’s infamous album ‘Tryshasla’ a spin before listening to ‘When Can’ and although you can here Secede’s sound throughout this album, it’s hard to pinpoint exactly where or how he and Kettel pieced this together and how on earth they come up with something as genius. Kettel is often renowned for perhaps, the weirder style of electronica music, and Secede, a master of miniature sounds, samples and that ‘outerworld’ feeling and both of these styles feature. But I think the thing that blows me away with this album is the unexpectedness of the sounds, the pure guts and glory of making something which they obviously enjoyed doing – no pre-tense, no expectations, and definitely no genre in mind.

You’ve got, what I can only describe as ‘medieval style’ music on tracks such as ‘Pentimento’ (i’m sure someone with a better background in music than me can pinpoint this style), more ambient, experimental tracks such as ‘Jahe’ and then ‘Admittance’ – probably one of my favourite tracks this year. Amazing percussion, choir-esque vocals, an overlaying of beautiful piano, crescendos and drops that are as euphoric as a dance-floor orientated track – from a track which couldn’t be less ‘dance’ if it tried. Check my scrobbles – I can’t stop playing it, yet this track (and the whole album) is so unique, I have a feeling some people will listen and be asking what all the fuss is about – love it or hate it, these guys have been crafting something special for years.

As early as 2005 Kettel and Secede hatched plans to produce a full-length collab. The two friends have been working together, on and off, to grow a style and craft an album that wouldn’t be just a merger or an addition, but that would render a genuine novelty. This year they delivered.

There’s definitely a theme, and a style – but i have no idea what it is – it’s just great and easily one of the more original and surprising albums of the year. Those seven years must’ve seen many inspirations, but it sounds like, they decided to create their own. Welcome back Sending Orbs!

You can listen to a few of the samples on the Sending Orbs Soundcloud and ‘When Can’ can be pre-ordered now, available November 26th.


Kettel & Secede – When Can (flavors mix)

The legendary Sending Orbs label has been quiet for the past few years but we’re about to witness a revival. Home to Yagya’s first releases (both ‘Rigning’ and ‘Will I Dream During The Process’) as well as Markus Guentner’s ‘Doppelgaenger’, the label has enlisted its debut artists to get the needle back on track, as Secede and Kettel team up for a joint release called ‘When Can’.

The Sending Orbs website has had a makeover in preparation and Kettel and Secede have prepared this lovely ‘flavours’ mix in anticipation of the release and have this to say about it:

To launch the new Sending Orbs website ( and to warm up for their new collaboration full-length “When Can”, Kettel & Secede have prepared little mix of tunes that have colored the fields of their inspiration over the past months. This mix does not feature any actual songs from the album.

So no tracklist then, and as yet no preview of the collaboration either. But if the flavours of this mix are anything to go by, we’re in for a truly exceptional experimental release. This is one beautiful journey packed full of the unknown, samples and touches of inspiration from both artists.

Subscribe to the Sending Orbs mailing list to keep up to date on the label and releases. And if you enjoyed this mix, you may also want to give Kettel’s isolatedmix a listen!



(No tracklist as yet)

isolatedmix 16 - Kettel


A producer of fine experimental, IDM and electronica, Kettel‘s sound has been instrumental in my years discovering music. Organic, with a massive appreciation of melody and ability to strike the most poignant and interesting electronic soundscapes, Kettel’s productions sit neatly alongside the likes of Aphex Twin’s finest productions, yet on a different day have the ability to stand a million miles apart in a world of their own. Gentle piano’s in Memory Steps polarise against Aphex Twin sounding tracks such as Dolend and Coddle. Reimer Eising is a producer with years of experience and there’s something for everyone amongst his immense electronic back catalogue.

Needless to say, Reimer’s influences are varied and have arisen from all walks of life. isolatedmix 16 is a very special ‘mixtape’ style journey, all lovingly glued together with added loops, samples and utmost care. Whilst the first half dabbles in genres and tempo, the second half is a deep dive into Reimer’s more IDM influenced side.

The mix contains tracks that are all special to him in one way or another. Close friends Coppe and Phoenicia feature, with his own favourite hip-hop moments from, A Tribe Called Quest, “masters” in the form of FSOL and “the master”, Morricone. Special memories invoked from, Mouse on Mars sit alongside “meditative arrangements” from Miles Davis, and of course a Kettel mix wouldn’t be complete without an appearance from Boards of Canada’s very own seagull, in Happy Cycling.

Purveyors of quality mixes get ready for something very special…

(Previous Soundcloud link was removed - new Mixcloud below)



01. Miles Davis & Bill Laswell – In a silent way
02. Coppe – Zojoji
03. Boards of Canada – Happy Cycling
04. A Tribe Called Quest – Start it up
05. Talib Kweli & Madlib – Funny Money
06. Gescom – Push Button Objects (remix)
07. Future Sound of London – Yage
08. Dead Can Dance – The Carnival is Over
09. Mouse on Mars – Chagrin
10. Ennio Morricone – Il Ritorno di Ringo
11. Future Sound of London – Coastline
12. E.O.G – Shoot Out
13. Phoenecia – Somory
14. AFX – Unreleased
15. Fennesz – Badminton Girl
16. Meat Beat Manifesto – Radio Babylon (The Orb mix)
17. Autechre – Goz Quarter
18. Bibio – Saint Christopher
19. Kettel – Tomorrow Jail (Unreleased)

You can follow Kettel on Facebook for all his latest news.