isolatedmix 44 - Kaito aka Hiroshi Watanabe

Hiroshi Watanabe has been releasing records since 1996, with styles ranging from deep house to his more recognized ambient/electronica works on Kompakt under the guise of Kaito. A stalwart for the label for the past twelve years, Hiroshi has clocked up no less than eight albums and recently released the rather brilliant ‘Less Time Until The End’ (full review here).

His passion for introspective electronic music is clearly visible in his latest release and his Kaito moniker is seemingly dedicated to this emotional side. Named after his son and translating as “the one that is able to explain the universe”, Kaito’s music is warm, analogue and immersive electronica, riddled with a million stories. Hiroshi’s a big believer in communicating through his music and opens up to the many ways a track can be perceived- he’s a storyteller, a painter of the night sky and the magician behind the soundtrack which accompanies them.

Hiroshi’s isolatedmix stems from this approach and takes us on a night-flight through some of his inspirations that span the spectrum of the ambient electronic genre – a perfect introduction to the newbie or an expertly curated accompaniment for the veteran. Hiroshi will be the guide, but you’ll make your own way there…

“I started with this kind of electronic music, mainly because my father created some very imaginative ambient music when I was child (around the late 70s). I was watching how he made the music and the sound seemed so impressive. It was because of this I fell in love with electronic music.

I love how the music can portray special images within each person – no-one the same, it’s impossible. There’s no need for vocals, or lyrics or words, just sound. I can close my eyes and it’s all I need – every person connecting to the universe through tension, energy and inspiration.

This is a selection of music which reflects that feeling – something special. Of course, there are tonnes to choose from and some amazing ambient music in the world, but this is just a little selection. Please enjoy the music and use your imagination to travel your own way”




01. Susumu Yokota – Azukiiro No Kaori
02. M83 – Sister (Part 1)
03. Deaf Center – City
04. Minilogue – Europhonia
05. Jean F. Cochois – Silence Unheard
06. John Foxx & Harold Budd – Here And Now
07. Gonno – Turn to Light
08. Walls – Vacant
09. Leo Abrahams – Sundown
10. Lawrence – Friday’s Child (Special Intro Version)
11. Michael Stearns – Star Dreams (Peace Eternal)
12. Ken Hayakawa – Place To Stay Summer Breeze Version
13. Helios – Even Today
14. Model 500 – Starlight (Echospace Dub)
15. Deepchord Presents Echospace – Warm
16. Múm – Random Summer
17. Markus Guentner – Das Vergessene
18. Vessel – Tiny
19. Inner Science – Emerge
20. Justus Kohncke – Spukhafte Fernwirkung
21. Yagya – Rigning Fjórir
22. Popnoname – Nightliner
23. Naohito Uchiyama – Solea
24. Junyamabe – nomeans…no
25. M-koda – Conflict
26. Brian Eno & Harold Budd – Their Memories
27. Kaito – Until the end of time  (Beatless version)

Kaito Web | Soundcloud | Facebook | Bandcamp